Faculty of Social Sciences

PhD funding

There are over 40 fully funded three year PhD studentships and student bursaries available within the Faculty of Social Sciences (fees will be paid at the current Home/EU rate).

These studentships and bursaries are available for all academic disciplines and across the nine schools and institutes within the Faculty. For more information about current research themes supported by the Faculty and details of application deadlines, please get in touch with the academic or administrative contact listed below in the individual school that interests you.

In addition to the PhD studentships and student bursaries supported by the Faculty, each of our schools and institutes also offers a number of PhD research funding opportunities, please visit their individual websites for more information (links are provided below).

All our PhD students receive automatic membership of the Graduate School and can access their superb range of dedicated support services and facilities including:

So what’s stopping you, why not come and join a vibrant community of over 600 social science research students at one of the most dynamic research led Faculties in one of the most prestigious universities in the world.

AHRC funding for UK and EU doctoral students


School Contacts
Academic Contact Administrative contact
Nottingham University Business School Andy Lockett - 0115 9515268 or andy.lockett@nottingham.ac.uk Andrea Tomlinson - 0115 8467634 or a.tomlinson@nottingham.ac.uk
School of Contemporary Chinese Studies Stephen Morgan - 0115 8232116 or s.morgan@nottingham.ac.uk Jenny Hall - 0115 8467769 or jenny.hall@nottingham.ac.uk
Nottingham School of Economics Robin Cubitt - 0115 8466155 or robin.cubitt@nottingham.ac.uk Sarah Nolan - 0115 9515250 or sarah.nolan@nottingham.ac.uk
School of Education Simon McGrath - 0115 9514508 or simon.mcgrath@nottingham.ac.uk Jodie Smith - 0115 8466460 or jodie.smith@nottingham.ac.uk
School of Geography Matthew Smallman-Raynor - 0115 9515427 or Matthew.Smallman-Raynor@nottingham.ac.uk Andrea Payne - 0115 9515575 or andrea.payne@nottingham.ac.uk
School of Law Dirk Van Zyl Smit - 0115 8466308 or


Nigel White - 0115 8468238 or Nigel.White@nottingham.ac.uk

Danielle Sinclair - 0115 9515732 or


Jo Bailey - 0115 9515732 or Joanne.Bailey@nottingham.ac.uk

School of Politics & International Relations Mathew Humphrey - 0115 9514864 or mathew.humphrey@nottingham.ac.uk Gail Evans - 0115 9514878 or gail.evans@nottingham.ac.uk
School of Sociology & Social Policy Justine Schneider - 0115 8467307 or justine.schneider@nottingham.ac.uk Alison Haigh - 0115 9515354 or alison.haigh@nottingham.ac.uk
Institute of Work, Health & Organisation Amanda Rivis - 0115 8467523 or amanda.rivis@nottingham.ac.uk Vanessa Ziegler - 0115 8467523 or vanessa.ziegler@nottingham.ac.uk

Faculty of Social Sciences

University Park

telephone: +44 (0) 115 823 2108
email: social-sciences@nottingham.ac.uk