logo
Faculty of Social Sciences
   
   
  

PhD funding

There are over 40 fully funded three year PhD studentships and student bursaries available within the Faculty of Social Sciences (fees will be paid at the current Home/EU rate).

These studentships and bursaries are available for all academic disciplines and across the nine schools and institutes within the Faculty. For more information about current research themes supported by the Faculty and details of application deadlines, please get in touch with the academic or administrative contact listed below in the individual school that interests you.

In addition to the PhD studentships and student bursaries supported by the Faculty, each of our schools and institutes also offers a number of PhD research funding opportunities, please visit their individual websites for more information (links are provided below).

All our PhD students receive automatic membership of the Graduate School and can access their superb range of dedicated support services and facilities including:

So what’s stopping you, why not come and join a vibrant community of over 600 social science research students at one of the most dynamic research led Faculties in one of the most prestigious universities in the world.

AHRC funding for UK and EU doctoral students

 
School contacts
School Academic Contact Administrative Contact
Nottingham University Business School Andy Lockett
+44 (0) 115 951 5268
andy.lockett@nottingham.ac.uk
Andrea Tomlinson
+44 (0)115 846 7634
a.tomlinson@nottingham.ac.uk
School of Contemporary Chinese Studies
Niv Horesh
niv.horesh@nottingham.ac.uk

+44 (0) 115 823 2297
Mandy Felton
mandy.felton@nottingham.ac.uk
+44 (0) 115 84 67769
School of Economics
Gianni De Fraja
gianni.defraja@nottingham.ac.uk
+44 (0) 115 8466107
Sarah Nolan
sarah.nolan@nottingham.ac.uk
+44 (0) 115 95 15250
School of Education
Shaaron Ainsworth
shaaron.ainsworth@nottingham.ac.uk
+44 (0) 115 846 7671
Jane Coulson
jane.coulson@nottingham.ac.uk
+44 (0) 115 951 4990
School of Geography
Sarah Hall
sarah.hall@nottingham.ac.uk
+44 (0) 115 84 68404
Andrea Payne
+44 115 95 15575
andrea.payne@nottingham.ac.uk
School of Law
Dirk Van Zyl Smit 
dirk.van-zyl-smit@nottingham.ac.uk

+44 (0) 115 95 15696  

Mary Footer
mary.footer@nottingham.ac.uk
+44 (0) 115 95 15727
Danielle Sinclair
danielle.sinclair@nottingham.ac.uk
+44 115 95 15732
School of Politics
Bettina Renz
bettina.renz@nottingham.ac.uk

+44 (0) 115 95 14056
Gail Evans
gail.evans@nottingham.ac.uk
+44 (0) 115 95 14878
School of Sociology & Social Policy Davide Pero
davide.pero@nottingham.ac.uk

+44 (0) 115 95 15238
Alison Haigh
alison.haigh@nottingham.ac.uk
+44 (0) 115 95 15354

Faculty of Social Sciences

University Park
Nottingham
NG7 2RD

telephone: +44 (0) 115 823 2108
email: social-sciences@nottingham.ac.uk