The Senate


President and Vice-Chancellor

Professor Shearer West

Deputy President and Vice-Chancellor



Professor Dame Jessica Corner
Professor Nick Miles OBE
Professor Sarah O'Hara

Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Provost, University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus

Professor Graham Kendall

Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Provost, University of Nottingham Ningbo China

Professor Chris Rudd

Faculty Pro-Vice-Chancellors and Faculty of Engineering Associate Faculty PVCs

Professor Jeremy Gregory (Arts)
Professor Andy Long (Engineering)
Professor John Atherton (Medicine and Health Sciences)
Professor Kevin Shakesheff (Science)
Professor Todd Landman (Social Sciences)
Professor Sam Kingman (Engineering Associate Faculty PVC)
Professor Phil Shipway (Engineering Associate Faculty PVC for Education & Student Experience)
Professor Sarah Sharples (Engineering Associate Faculty PVC for REsearch & Knowledge Exchange)

Heads of Schools

Professor Tony Avery (Medicine)
Professor Alistair Bruce (Nottingham University Business School)
Professor Ian Dryden (Mathematical Sciences)
Professor Gary England (Veterinary Medicine and Science)
Professor Patrick Finglass (Humanities) (to 28 January 2017)
Professor Giles Foody (Geography)
Professor Jon Garibaldi (Computer Science)
Professor Josephine Guy (English)
Professor Jonathan Hirst (Chemistry)
Professor Simon Langley-Evans (Biosciences)
Professor Kevin Lee (Economics)
Professor Jo Lymn (Health Sciences)
Professor Ian Macdonald (Life Sciences)
Professor Paul McGraw (Psychology)
Professor Nicola Mclelland (Cultures, Languages and Area Studies)
Professor Mike Merrifield (Physics and Astronomy)
Professor Andy Noyes (Education)
Professor Mark Pearce (Humanities)
Professor Wyn Rees (Politics and International Relations)
Professor Clive Roberts (Pharmacy)
Professor Bruce Stafford (Sociology and Social Policy)
Professor Nigel White (Law)

Professors other than Heads of Schools

Professor Stephanie Allen (Pharmacy)
Professor Kevin Bales (Politics and International Relations)
Professor Philip Bath (Medicine)
Professor Andreas Bieler (Politics and International Relations)
Professor Estelle Derclaye (Law)
Professor Julian Henderson (Humanities - Archaeology)
Professor Helen Lovatt (Humanities - Classics)
Professor Zoe Trodd (Cultures, Languages and Area Studies)
Professor David Walker (Medicine)
Professor Marion Walker (Medicine)

Chair of Quality and Standards Committee

Professor Phil Shipway

Vice-Provosts and Faculty Deans, UNMC

Professor Fon Sim Ong (Vice-Provost, Teaching and Learning)
Professor Claire O'Malley (Vice-Provost, Research and Knowledge Exchange)
Professor Andy Chan (Dean, Faculty of Engineering)
Professor Lee Chew Ging (Dean, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences)
Professor Andrew Morris (Dean, Faculty of Science)

Vice-Provosts and Faculty Deans, UNNC

Professor Uwe Aickelin (Vice-Provost, Teaching and Learning)
Professor Sam Shen (Vice-Provost, External Relations)
Professor Chris Gerada (Vice-Provost, Research and Knowledge Exchange)
Dr Peter Hofman (Acting Dean, Faculty of Business)
Professor Geoff Hall (Dean, Faculty of Arts and Humanities)
Professor Tao Wu (Dean, Faculty of Science and Engineering) 
Professor May Tan Mullens (Dean, Graduate School)

Academic Representatives from International Campuses

UNNC: Dr Peter Morgan, Professor Stephen Morgan, Dr Odette Paramor
UNMC: Professor Festo Massawe, Professor Amin Malek Mohammadi, Dr Svenja Hanson

Representatives of the Non-Professorial Academic and Research Staff

Faculty of Arts

Dr Gabriele Neher (Humanities - Art History)
Dr Christopher Phelps (Cultures, Languages and Area Studies)
Dr Nicola Royan (English)
Dr Neil Sinclair (Humanities - Philosophy)
Dr Gareth Stockey (Cultures, Languages and Area Studies)
Dr Nick Thomas (Humanities - History)

Faculty of Engineering

Dr Pearl Agyakwa
Dr Davide De Focatiis
Dr Rachel L Gomes
Dr Rod Mackenzie
Dr Iain Paterson-Stephens
Dr Katy Voisey

Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Dr Holly Blake (Health Sciences)
Dr Mark Cole (Life Sciences)
Dr Michelle Hall (Health Sciences)
Dr Ada Hui (Health Sciences)
Dr Rachael Murray (Medicine)
Dr Sonia Ratib (Medicine)

Faculty of Science

Dr Ian Hardy (Biosciences)
Dr Preeti Jethwa (Biosciences)
Dr June McCombie (Chemistry)
Dr Beatriz Olmos Sanchez (Physics and Astronomy)
Dr Michel Valstar (Computer Science)
Dr Christian Wagner (Computer Science)

Faculty of Social Sciences

Dr Ziming Cai (Nottingham University Business School)
Dr Richard Field (Geography)
Dr Alison Mohr (Sociology and Social Policy)
Dr Alexander Trautrims (Nottingham University Business School)
Dr Andrea Tosato (Law)
Dr Fabio Tufano (Economics)

Student Members

8 student reps to be confirmed by the Students' Union

Mr Linur Chubaev (President of Students' Association, UNMC)

Emma Zhu (President of Students' Union, UNNC)


The Registrar

(membership updated 1 October 2017)


Registrar's Office

Trent Building
University of Nottingham
University Park
Nottingham, NG7 2RD

telephone: +44 115 951 5761
fax: +44 115 951 5739