School of Law

J C Smith Trust Fund Visiting Scholar Scheme

Visiting ScholarsWe are proud of our well-established post of J C Smith Trust Fund Visiting Scholar scheme, successfully welcoming visitors since 1990.

About the scholarship

The fund was established in honour of Professor Sir John Smith, a renowned authority in the field of English criminal law and a key figure in the establishment and development of the School of Law at The University of Nottingham.

Sir John served as the Head of the School of Law from 1956 to 1974 and again from 1977 to 1986.

2016 Visiting Scholar

Professor William Kovacic (Former Chairman, Federal Trade Commission and Professor of Law, George Washington University Law School), who is in residence from 26 February 2016.

Previous visitors

The Visiting Scholarship allows distinguished scholars to visit the School of Law and engage with both staff and students.

Previous visitors have included:

  • Professor Sandra Liebenberg (Stellenbosch University, 2015)
  • Professor Peter Watts (University of Auckland, 2013)
  • Professor JC McCrudden (Queen's University Belfast, 2012)
  • Professor Patricia J. Williams (Columbia Law School, New York, 2011)
  • Professor David Feldman (University of Cambridge, 2010)
  • Professor Jonathan Simon (Boalt Hall School of Law, University of California at Berkeley, 2008)
  • Professor Yoram Dinstein (Tel Aviv University, Israel, 2007)
  • Professor Allan C. Hutchinson (Osgoode Hall Law School, York University, Canada, 2006) 
  • Professor Andrew Ashworth QC (University of Oxford, 2006)
  • Professor John Gardner (2004)
  • Professor Karen Knop (University of Toronto, 2004)
  • Professor Joseph Weiler (New York University, 2003)
  • Professor Katerina Tomasevski (University of Lund, 2001)
  • Professor Adrian Zuckerman (University of Oxford, 1998)
  • Professor Hazel Genn (University College, London, 1995)
  • Professor Francis Reynolds (University of Oxford, 1994)
  • Sir Frank Berman (Legal Adviser to the Foreign Office, 1993)
  • Jack Beatson (then a member of the Law Commission, 1992)
  • Professor Peter Birks (University of Oxford, 1991)
  • John Spencer (University of Cambridge, 1990)


School of Law

Law and Social Sciences Building
The University of Nottingham
University Park
Nottingham, NG7 2RD

telephone: +44 (0)115 951 5559