Knowledge Exchange Committee

1.      Purpose

The Knowledge Exchange Committee is a committee of Senate.  The Committee has responsibility for executive oversight of the Knowledge Exchange Strategy within the University and ensuring the University is compliant with external requirements related to Knowledge Exchange including the Research England’s Knowledge Exchange Framework (KEF).

2.      Responsibilities

Without limiting the general responsibilities as described above: 

  1. To develop the University’s Knowledge Exchange Framework and Strategy in accordance with the University Strategic Plan. 

  1. To advise the University Executive Board on the allocation of resources to deliver the aims and objectives articulated with respect to the University’s Strategic Plan, as laid out in the Knowledge Exchange Framework and Strategy. 

  1. To allocate resources on behalf of the University Executive Board in support of (1), primarily utilising HEIF funding. 

  1. To monitor the implementation of the Knowledge Exchange Strategy and to evaluate its impact. 

  1. To have oversight and responsibility for monitoring performance against the institutional key performance indicators for Knowledge Exchange. 

  1. To have oversight and responsibility for monitoring progress to reduce risks identified in the University risk register. ​​​​​​​ 

  1. To monitor the internal and external developments and trends in Knowledge Exchange, and take account of them in the development of future Knowledge Exchange strategies and policies. 

  1. To agree University responses to significant consultation processes related to Knowledge Exchange from external bodies, including Research England’s Research Excellence Framework (REF) Impact assessment which considers the University’s Knowledge Exchange activities. 

  1. To establish such sub-groups as may be required to deliver specific areas of the Committee’s remit. 

  1. To receive reports and updates from the Committee’s sub-committees and where relevant from other Senate and University Executive Board committees. 

  1. To deliver reports and updates to Senate on its activities for consideration and receive reports from Senate as required. 

  1. To provide reports and updates for University Executive Board to receive as required.  

  1. The Chair of the Committee is accountable for the decisions of the Committee which includes but is not limited to decisions with a financial impact and will liaise with the chairs of other committees and other budget holders where there is overlap in responsibility. 

3.    General

3.1   Membership


Pro-Vice-Chancellor Research and Knowledge Exchange

 Academic Membership

Faculty Pro-Vice Chancellor

APVC Research and Knowledge Exchange

5 Faculty Associate Pro-Vice-Chancellors

Academic Lead for Strategic Research and Innovation Initiatives

A Vice-Provost from each of UNNC and UNM

One Global Research Theme Lead

Professional Services

 Director Research and Innovation

Student Representative

Nominated by the Students’ Union

Nominated Members

One member to be chosen through the Committee Membership Selection Process

Senate Members

Two members to be chosen through a Senate election process

The Director of Engagement and Partnerships and the Director of Intellectual Property Commercialisation will be in attendance at the meetings but are not members of the Committee.

3.2   Chair and support

The Committee will be convened and chaired by Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Research and Knowledge Exchange. The Secretary will be supplied by the Governance and Executive Support Team.

3.3   Frequency of meetings

The Committee will meet quarterly and the Chair shall call additional meetings where necessary.  The Committee shall delegate activity to sub-groups or committees as appropriate.

3.4   Delegated Authority

The delegated financial authority of the Committee is £2m or as stated in the Financial Regulations. 

3.5  Deputies

Members of the Committee are not able to nominate a deputy to attend the meeting on their behalf.

3.6   Quorum

A quorum will be half the regular membership plus one. 

3.7   Term of Office

The term of office for the members selected by the Committee Membership Selection Group is two years. Some of these members may be reappointed for a further year with the agreement of the Chair in order to maintain an appropriate balance between turnover and experience on the Committee.  The term of office for the representative nominated by the Students’ Union is one year.  Other members are ex officio. 

3.8   Reporting and Review

Senate will receive, consider and respond to reports from the Committee on its activities as required.  University Executive Board will receive and note reports from the Committee as required. The effectiveness and the membership of the Committee will be reviewed annually.   

The following groups will report into the Committee as required: 

  • Knowledge Exchange Strategy Steering Board 

(Terms of Reference Approved on 06/10/2022)

Return to Committees list

Registrar's Office

Trent Building
University of Nottingham
University Park
Nottingham, NG7 2RD

telephone: +44 115 951 5761
fax: +44 115 951 5739