School of Medicine
  • Print

2015 award winners 

The winners received their awards from Professor Trish Greenhalgh from the University of Oxford, keynote speaker at the School of Medicine Annual Event 2015 on 14 December 2015. The renamed Anne-Marie Dwyer award was presented by Michael Dwyer, husband of our late colleague who received the school's first Staff Choice Award last year


Su Hudson - Support Staff award

Su makes herself available to staff who need her help, usually urgently requiring her to drop whatever she is doing to meet their needs. Despite being part time and having caring responsibilities she has been extremely flexible, often working additional hours, changing her working pattern and working weekends to meet key University deadlines. Without this flexibility key functions would not have taken place. Outside of her own role she provides advice and assistance to the University’s central HR team on clinical recruitment. 



Professor Kim Thomas - Research award

Kim has been instrumental in leading and shaping the school's Grants Training Programme which has involved substantial work to identify a team of contributors and trainers, to promote the programme and persuade colleagues to take part, and to shape a curriculum which is appealing, informative and useful. This contribution is helping to increase the quality of research applications. 



Dr Puja Myles - Teaching award

Puja is an excellent ambassador for the school, and is an inspirational, enthusiastic and committed teacher, who always put the students at the centre of her teaching and learning activities. She has led in the design, development and implementation of a range of innovative e-learning activities and teaching methods to enhance student learning which have received excellent feedback from students. 



Sandra Smith - Community/Partnership award

The Community/Partnership award recognised Sandra for her support to staff, students and research participants and her extracurricular activities. She takes the time to listen patiently and considerately to research participants’ concerns, researching the best options for them and pointing them towards appropriate sources of help; volunteered for NUH Volunteers Events and her contribution to fundraising for the Ear Foundation and strengthening the unit’s links with this charity.



Tara Claringburn - Anne-Marie Dwyer Staff Choice award

This year’s award winner is an APM member of staff. From August 2014 to June 2015 the Division of Epidemiology and Public Health was without Senior Management support. Tara stepped in despite these responsibilities being several levels above her own grade. She took on additional responsibilities in addition to her existing roles which meant having to undertake further training. This commitment enabled the division to function. She is an excellent ambassador for the school fully embracing the principles and ethos of the school.






School of Medicine

University of Nottingham
Medical School
Nottingham, NG7 2UH

Contacts: Please see our 'contact us' page for further details