School of Medicine
  • Print

School of Medicine success in prestigious NIHR Senior Investigators Awards 2018/19



(Clockwise from top left: Tony Avery, Tim Coleman, Richard Morriss, Marion Walker, Ian Hall and Deborah Hall)


The School of Medicine is delighted to announce that Professors Tim Coleman and Tony Avery (Primary Care), Ian Hall (Respiratory Medicine), Deborah Hall (Otology and Hearing) and  Richard Morriss (Psychiatry) have been appointed as National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Senior Investigators.

Nottingham accounted for 5 out of the 43 new appointments this year, second only to the University of Oxford.

Professor Marion Walker (Rehabilitation and Ageing) has also been named as Emeritus Senior Investigator. Emeritus status is given to holders having succeeded twice in open competition completing two terms as a Senior Investigator.

Many congratulations to all on their success and the recognition this represents for the University of Nottingham.

NIHR Senior Investigators are appointed through annual competitions informed by the advice of an international panel of experts.  They are are among the most prominent and prestigious researchers funded by the NIHR and represent the country’s most outstanding leaders of clinical and applied health and social care research. Find out more about NIHR Senior Investigators. 

Read the NIHR's announcement on 21 February 2018.






Posted on Thursday 1st March 2018

School of Medicine

University of Nottingham
Medical School
Nottingham, NG7 2UH

Contacts: Please see our 'contact us' page for further details