Philosophy of Time Society
Philosophy of Time Society

Welcome to the Philosophy of Time Society

The Philosophy of Time Society (PTS) grew out of a National Endowment for the Humanities Summer Seminar on the Philosophy of Time offered by George Schlesinger in 1991.

The members of that seminar wanted to promote interest in the philosophy of time and Jon N Turgerson offered to become the first Director of the society with the initial costs underwritten by the Drake University Center for the Humanities. Thus, the PTS was formed in 1993.

Its goal is to promote the study of the philosophy of time from a broad analytic perspective, and to provide a forum as an affiliated group with the American Philosophical Association, to discuss the issues in and related to the philosophy of time.

The PTS welcomes new members. Our membership fee is $15.00 a year. For that fee you are entitled to a copy of Chronos: The Annual Proceedings of the Philosophy of Time Society, which contains all of the papers presented at each of the APA division group meetings. In addition, members have the opportunity to interact with others of similar interests on our forum page. Our members consist of graduate students, professors from all over the world and others interested in the study of philosophical issues related to time

Philosophy of Time Society

President: Dr Jonathan Tallant
Vice-President:Associate Professor Ulrich Meyer

Treasurer: Tim Schoettle
Secretary: V. Alan White