Institute for Policy and Engagement

This award recognises an individual or team for a successful activity or initiative where research findings and communications have influenced the formation or implementation of public policy. This may be through working with politicians, civil servants or any other type of policymakers or influencers at any geographical location.


Winner: The Horizon Unbias project team, led by Dr Elvira Perez Vallejos, for their work to support informed policy making in a digital world.


  • Professor Gary Rawnsley (Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, UNNC), for their contribution to government understanding of soft power and foreign policy.
  • Dr Lisa Yon (School of Veterinary Medicine and Science), for their contribution to the development of new government guidelines on elephant welfare.
  • Dr Peter Chapman (School of Psychology), for their work on the See Bike, Say Bike campaign.


Winner: Dr Katarina Schwarz (Rights Lab), for their work on antislavery policy both in the UK and globally


  • Dr Sarah Cassidy (School of Psychology), for their work on how policy can tackle suicide among people with autism
  • Dr Chloe Holloway (School of Law), for their work to improve the support of autistic individuals in police custody

World-class research at the University of Nottingham

University Park

t: +44 (0) 115 951 5151