Institute for Policy and Engagement

This award will be presented to a member of staff in the early stages of an academic or research-only career who has worked with politicians, civil servants or any other type of policymakers or influencers with the aim of influencing public policy with their research findings. 


Winner: Dr Lorna Treanor (NUBS), for their work to support the development of an inclusive entrepreneurship ecosystem

Special Commendation

  • Dr Xuan Feng (NUBS China), for their work supporting local policy makers in Ningbo on talent acquisition, development and retention


  • Dr Ben Barton (Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, UNM), for their work to build policy makers' understandings of China's Belt-and-Road Initiative


Winner: Dr Katarina Schwarz (the Rights Lab), for their work on on antislavery policy both in the UK and globally 


  • Dr Sarah Cassidy (School of Psychology), for their work on how policy can tackle suicide among people with autism
  • Dr Chloe Holloway (School of Law), for their work to improve the support of autistic individuals in police custody

World-class research at the University of Nottingham

University Park

t: +44 (0) 115 951 5151