School of Politics and International Relations

Awards and Prizes

The school is a regular recipient of research grants, which are a key part of our strategy to develop our research capacity. Individual members of staff have been awarded prizes for both their teaching and research. Listed below is a selection of grants and prizes awarded in recent years.

Research grants

View more...

Nicole Janz has been awarded a Catalyst Grant from the Berkeley Initiative for Transparency in the Social Sciences (BITSS). The grant is for $6,000 to promote reproducibility in the UK and Brazil.

Jan Meyer-Sahling is Principal Investigator in a consortium that has won £400,000 from the BA/DfID Anti-Corruption Evidence Partnership for a project titled 'Civil service reform and anti-corruption in developing countries: Tools and evidence from eight countries in four developing regions'.

Diego Maiorano has been awarded 5.4 million Swedish Krone from the Swedish Research Council (Vetenskapsradet) for the research project 'The Paradoxes of Empowerment: Employment Guarantee, Women, and Dalits in India'.

Anja Neundorf has been successful in a research funding bid to the ESRC Secondary Data Analysis Initiative, as Primary Investigator with an international team of researchers looking at 'The legacy of authoritarian regimes on democratic citizenship'.

Paul Heywood has been appointed Programme Leader of a £3.6 million BA/DfID initiative to fund international research to identify the most successful ways of addressing corruption in developing countries.

Matthew Rendall has been awarded an ESRC Research Seminar grant of £30,000, to run six workshops on the theme 'Climate Ethics and Climate Economics'.

The Nottingham Interdisciplinary Centre for Economic and Political Research (NICEP) has been given a £25,000 Discipline Bridging Award from the University to run an international conference, a speaker series, an internal workshop series and to design a new website.

Vanessa Pupavac is part of a successful Discipline Bridging Award bid with colleagues across the University, including Professor Zoe Trodd in the Department of American and Canadian Studies. This team has a £25,000 award to establish an interdisciplinary research network in slavery studies.

Pauline Eadie (Principal Investigator), along with May Tan-Mullins at UNNC (Co-Investigator), was awarded a £342,000 grant from the ESRC under the ESRC-DFID Poverty Alleviation Programme. The research will be on 'Poverty Alleviation in the Wake of Typhoon Yolanda' and will be carried out in partnership with the University of the Philippines Diliman.

Kyriaki Nanou was awarded a grant from the Hellenic Observatory's 'National Bank of Greece Research Call'. The research falls under the heading of 'The Crisis of Political Extremism in Greece' and concentrates on 'The Rise of the Golden Dawn and its Impact on Greek Party Politics'. The project is a collaboration with colleagues from Reading and York and is funded with £8,000.

Lucy Sargisson has won a bid for an ESRC Seminar Series. The title of the series is 'Collaborative House and Community Resilience'. It is a collaborative project with colleagues from Newcastle, Leeds, LSE, Sheffield, Lancaster as well as the UK Co-housing Network and is worth just over £24,000.

Anja Neundorf is part of a consortium that has been funded by Norface for a project on 'Inequalities, Insurance, Incentives and Immigration: Challenges and Solutions for the Welfare State'.

Rory Cormac won an Institute for Historical Research award to fund an archival research trip to the US in 2015.

Vanessa Pupavac is part of two research consortia that have successfully bid for ESRC research funding: A Shared Space and a Space for Sharing: A Transdisciplinary Exploration of Online Trust and Empathy - Interdisciplinary project with Sheffield (PI), Birmingham, Edinburgh, KCL and Kent; and Challenging online feaR And OtheRing - Interdisciplinary ESRC CuRAtOR project with Lincoln (PI), Aberdeen, Bath and Newcastle.

Helen Williams and Bettina Renz were awarded a grant from the Higher Education Academy for a project titled 'Closing the loop: bridging the gap between provision and implementation of feedback'. The grant brings in £58K from the HEA.


Research fellowships and scholarships

Catherine Gegouthas secured a Leverhulme Research Fellowship (August 2017-July 2018). She is working on the impact of EU economic policies on the developing world. 

Bettina Renz has been awarded a Fellowship at the University of Helsinki, funded by the Finnish Prime Minister's Office, for 10 months starting on 1 October 2015. The project is on the topic of Russian hybrid warfare and its implications for Finland's system of comprehensive security. She has been awarded the project jointly with a colleague at the University of Helsinki.

Ksenia Northmore-Ball has been awarded a British Academy Fellowship, which she will take at The University of Nottingham from 2015-18. Ksenia's project will be 'Moulding Communist Children into Democratic Voters: Political Socialization in Eastern European New Democracies'.

Rory Cormac was awarded an AHRC Early Career Fellowship under the Future Leaders scheme, for 18 months from 1 July 2015.

Rory Cormac was elected a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society.

Jan Meyer-Sahling was awarded a Fernand Braudel Fellowship at the European University Institute for 2014.

Paul Heywood was elected Fellow of the Leadership Foundation for Higher Education in 2013.

Academic prizes


Jan Meyer-Sahling won the prize for the best article in East European Politics in 2012 for his article 'Governing the Post-communist State: Government Alternation and Senior Civil Service Politicisation in Central and Eastern Europe'.

Anja Neundorf received the SOEP Prize for the Best Scientific Publication (Second Prize) for her Public Opinion Quarterly paper 'The Individual-Level Dynamics of Bounded Partisanship'.


Ben Holland was presented with a 2014 Bernard Crick Teaching Award.

Helen Williams won the PSA prize for Innovation in Teaching in 2014 for her work in transforming one of our large second-year modules.

Phil Cowley and Mark Stuart were awarded the PSA Innovation in Teaching Prize for 2013.

Lucy Sargisson won The University of Nottingham 2014 Lord Dearing Award for Teaching.

Frances Ryan won one of the Graduate School's prestigious Postgraduate Teaching Awards for 2013 - one of only three awarded across the University. The Postgraduate Teaching Assistant Award recognises and celebrates examples of innovative teaching and support of learning and is recognised as a mark of distinction within the University.

Lucy Sargisson won in two categories at the 2013 University Staff Oscars: 'Personal Tutors: Difficult Issues' and also 'Teaching: Best Feedback'. Lucy was also the runner-up in the category 'Best Dissertation Supervisor'.

Andreas Bieler was presented with a BISA/HEA Teaching Award in 2013.

Pauline Eadie was presented with the Lord Dearing Award in 2013.

Bettina Renz was awarded the Chancellor's Award in 2012 for her contribution to the quality of teaching at the University.

Service to the discipline

Anja Neundorf was elected as the youngest member of the Council of the European Political Science Association.

Andrew Mumford had a conference proposal on 'How Terrorist Groups 'Learn': Innovation and Adaptation in Political Violence' selected by the British Academy to be one of their six conferences for the 2015 calendar year.

Helen Williams was appointed co-director of the Political Studies Association Quantitative Methods Teaching Network.


School of Politics and International Relations

Law and Social Sciences building
University of Nottingham
University Park
Nottingham, NG7 2RD

Contact us