Conferencing the International



First Session


The announcement at the opening plenary of coordinated plans between the representatives of British and Princely India to work towards a united Indian federation changed the nature of the conference completely. It became driven by attempts to combine existing federal models with the specific demands of colonial India. Informal attempts to reach a deal between religious communities failed, leading to a Minorities Committee being established. Prime Minister MacDonald concluded the session with a commitment by the British government to work towards a federal India with reservations and safeguards.

The membership of the first conference session numbered 96. For selected delegate profiles, see the links below:

PresentSir Sultan Mahomed Shah, Aga Khan III (Chairman of the British India Delegation, head of the Muslim delegation), Sir CP Ramaswami Aiyar (Member of British India Delegation, member of Federal Structure Committee), Sir Jai Singh Prabhakar, Maharaja of Alwar, Dr Bhimrao Ramji Ambedkar, W Wedgwood Benn, Sir Ganga Singh, Maharaja of Bikaner (One of the Chairmen of the conference), KN Haksar, Sir Samuel Hoare, Sir Akbar Hydari (Member of Federal Structure Committee), Mukund Ramrao Jayakar (Member of Federal Structure Committee), Mahomed Ali Jinnah (Member of Federal, Minorities, Defence and Sind subcommittees), NM Joshi (Member of Provincial Constitution and Franchise Sub-Committees), Philip Kerr, Marquess of Lothian (Member of Federal Structure Committee), J Ramsay MacDonald (President of the Conference), Dr BS Moonje, Maulana Muhammad Ali, Bhupinder Singh, Maharaja of Patiala, Rufus Isaacs, Marquess of Reading (One of the Chairmen of the conference, head of the Liberal delegation, member of Federal Structure Committee), Lord Sankey (Deputy President of the Conference), Sir Tej Bahadur Sapru (Member of Federal Structure Committee), Mian Sir Muhammad Shafi, Jahan Ara Shahnawaz, Radhabai Subbarayan
Next EventSecond Session

Conferencing the International

University of Nottingham
University Park
Nottingham, NG7 2RD

telephone: +44 (0)115 84 68402