School of Geography

Multiple awards for School of Geography staff and students

The school is pleased to announce a number of fabulous achievements and awards to staff and students over the past year – many have been recognised for their achievements under what were challenging conditions.

First, a number of students who graduated in 2020 received prizes for their dissertations from research groups of the Royal Geographical Society:

  • Thea Montanaro - Finding a forever home: Exploring the spatialities of the rescue dog Geographies of Health and Wellbeing Research Group
  • Charlotte Ross - Bearing the weight: Dis-figuring understandings of fatness in the gym

Second, our always esteemed GeogSoc achieved Gold STAR status (the highest internal accreditation possible), as well as being Runner Up in the Group of the Year category at the recent Student Celebration Awards. Congratulations to all of the GeogSoc Committee, in particular to Charlie O’Neill, Lucy Taylor and Hannah Pink for their efforts.

Third, at the recent University Education Network Awards and Staff Oscars we won a number of awards recognising achievements in teaching and Student Voice. These matter a great deal to us a school because they are voted for by students. The School of the Year award has given everyone a great morale boost as it recognises how effectively we work in partnership with students:

  • School of the Year (Social Sciences) – Geography
  • Most Inspirational Teacher (Social Sciences) – Dr Richard Field
  • Best Postgraduate Who teaches (Social Sciences) – Dr Alastair Munro
  • Best Student Rep (Social Sciences) – George Buttery

Colleagues and students in the school have also received prestigious Vice-Chancellor's Medals recently:

  • Dr Nick Clare – work in supporting and leading on projects related to student mental health, wellbeing and resilience
  • Professor Louise Crewe – work leading the Faculty of Social Sciences' education and student experience portfolio
  • Charlie O'Neill – for all of her work and leadership as President of GeogSoc over the past year

Finally, the following colleagues have received Lord Dearing Awards that recognise excellence in commitment to teaching and learning:

  • Clare Templey
  • Dr Nick Mount
  • Professor Louise Crewe
Posted on Wednesday 14th July 2021

School of Geography

Sir Clive Granger Building
University of Nottingham
University Park
Nottingham, NG7 2RD

Contact us