School of Computer Science

Ackermann Award 2016

Nicolai Kraus with his Ackermann Award 2016

Congratulations  go out to Nicolai Kraus, a Research Fellow in the Functional Programming Lab, for winning the Ackermann Award 2016. The Ackermann Award is the EACSL Outstanding Dissertation Award for Logic in Computer Science. It is presented during the annual conference of the EACSL (CSL'xx). Since 2010, the Award has been sponsored by the Kurt Gödel Society. 

The twelfth Ackermann Award is presented at CSL’16 in Marseille, France. The 2016 Ackermann Award was open to PhD dissertations in topics specified by the CSL and LICS conferences, which were formally accepted as theses for the award of a PhD degree at a university or equivalent institution between 1 January 2014 and 31 December 2015. The Jury received fifteen nominations for the Ackermann Award 2016. The candidates came from
a number of different countries across the world. The institutions at which the nominees obtained their doctorates represent nine countries in Europe, North America, the Middle East and Australia. 

Nicolai won with his thesis, Truncation Levels in Homotopy Type Theory, and is supervised by Dr Thorsten Altenkirch. 

The Jury consisted of Thierry Coquand (Chalmers University of Gothenburg), Anuj Dawar (University of Cambridge), the president of EACSL, Orna Kupferman (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Daniel Leivant (Indiana University, Bloomington), Dale Miller (INRIA Saclay), SigLog representative, Luke Ong (University of Oxford), Jean-Éric Pin (CNRS and Université Paris 7), Simona Ronchi della Rocca (University of Torino), the vice-president of EACSL.



Posted on Monday 17th October 2016

School of Computer Science

University of Nottingham
Jubilee Campus
Wollaton Road
Nottingham, NG8 1BB

For all enquires please visit: