The University Counselling Service

Workshops and groups


Coronavirus (COVID-19)

The University Counselling Service is currently offering workshops onlive via MS Teams.

To contact us about groups and / or workshops, please email: UCSworkshops@nottingham.ac.uk

Our self-help material may also be of use and be found here

There are a number of groups and workshops available for students to provide a a ‘communal’ type support experience.  Sometimes students have an individual counselling session and are advised to try a workshop, or referred to one of the groups the service runs.  

Workshops and Groups Information

Workshops are often one-off events (sometimes they are made up of 2 linked sessions) with a specific theme, such as perfectionism, self-esteem or anxiety.  Workshops are self-referral.

Groups are run as counselling in a group setting, and meet regularly (weekly or monthly).  Attendees get to know other group members and can benefit from support and understanding from other participants, as well as hearing different perspectives.  To enrol on a group you must have been seen for an individual counselling appointment first.  You can register for an appointment here.

A podcast covering groups and workshops - the advantages of coming to one and how they work.

Bookings for the workshops will open two weeks before the workshop session

 

 

Workshops

Workshop sessions will have input from the counsellor running it, as well as reflective exercises to allow discussion and sharing of experiences from students attending.  They are often focussed on finding practical ways of managing specific issues.

Settling in and Coping with Change for students: Monday 1 November 2021

Date
Monday 1st November 2021 (13:00-14:00)
Location:
MS Teams live event, Online

Manage Anxiety and Stress for Students: Wednesday 3 November 2021

Date
Wednesday 3rd November 2021 (13:00-14:00)
Location:
MS Teams live event, Online

Breathe Here Now - Staff and Students: Thursday 4 November 2021

Date
Thursday 4th November 2021 (13:00-13:30)
Location:
MS Teams live event, Online

Manage Perfectionism and Procrastination for students: Friday 5 November 2021

Date
Friday 5th November 2021 (13:00-14:00)
Location:
MS Teams live event, Online

Tips for Coping with Difficult Feelings for Students: Monday 15 November 2021

Date
Monday 15th November 2021 (13:00-14:00)
Location:
MS Teams live event, Online

Film as Therapy for students: Tuesday 16 November 2021

Date
Tuesday 16th November 2021 (13:00-14:00)
Location:
MS Teams live event, Online

Dance as Therapy for Staff: Thursday 18 November 2021

Date
Thursday 18th November 2021 (13:30-14:30)
Location:
University Park Nottingham

Breathe Here Now for Staff and Students: Friday 26 November 2021

Date
Friday 26th November 2021 (13:00-13:30)
Location:
MS Teams live event, Online

Mindfulness for Staff and Students: Friday 3 December 2021

Date
Friday 3rd December 2021 (13:00-14:00)
Location:
Online, Online (Microsoft Teams), Online by registration on Eventbrite

Breathe Here Now for Staff and Students: Friday 21 January 2022

Date
Friday 21st January 2022 (13:00-13:30)
Location:
MS Teams live event, Online - 365 Teams Meeting

Manage Anxiety and Stress for Students: Thursday 3 February 2022

Date
Thursday 3rd February 2022 (14:00-15:00)
Location:
MS Teams live event, Online - 365 Teams Meeting

Writing as Therapy for students: Wednesday 9 February 2022

Date
Wednesday 9th February 2022 (14:00-15:00)
Location:
MS Teams live event, Online - 365 Teams Meeting

Breathe Here Now for Staff and Students

Date
Wednesday 16th February 2022 (13:00-13:30)
Location:
MS Teams live event, Online - 365 Teams Meeting

 

  

University Counselling Service

The Orchards
University Park
Nottingham, NG7 2RD

telephone: +44 (0)115 951 3695
email: counselling.service@nottingham.ac.uk

BACP Accredited Service logo