School of Education

Lord Dearing Awards 2024

The Lord Dearing Awards recognise the outstanding achievements of University of Nottingham staff in enhancing the student learning experience. The awards are held annually, with nominations from staff and students. Awards are given to individuals and teams who have successfully demonstrated the impact of their teaching and learning (and/or associated projects) to enhancing the student experience. 

We're delighted that several of our colleagues in the School of Education are recipients of this year’s Lord Dearing Awards:

Individual Awards

  • Xin Gao
  • Klaus Mundt
  • David Murphy

Team Awards

Centre for English Language Education (CELE) colleagues working on academic language and communications skills courses 

Team Lead: Shasha Li
Team members: Joanna Al-Youssef, David Bowen, Olga Burakov, David Button, Aleksandra Cebula, Alasdair Couch, Ewan Dinwiddie, Angela Gillet, Simon Gooch, John Hall, Louis Harrison, Selina Janagal, Richard Lee, Sandra Leigh, Klaus Mundt, Natasha Puszczynska, John Rabone, Patience Sibanda, Elaine Smith. 

Louis Harrison, Head of CELE commented “The award affirms the quality of what we do in CELE and how much students value our work across all courses.  Particular thanks to Shasha and David for taking ALACS to the wider university over the past four years, raising CELE’s profile and expanding our offer into subject specific courses and drop-ins as well as expanding standard courses and consultations to include home students.  This reflects extremely well on the work and efforts of the whole team, including operational support, and I’m sure that all colleagues in CELE feel justly proud of the achievement.”

Please visit the awards website to view the full list of this year's winners 

Posted on Monday 24th June 2024

School of Education

University of Nottingham
Jubilee Campus
Wollaton Road
Nottingham, NG8 1BB

Contact us