School of Life Sciences

Stephen Hill

Professor of Molecular Pharmacology, Faculty of Medicine & Health Sciences


  • workRoom CS3 The University of Nottingham Medical School
    Queen's Medical Centre
    NG7 2UH
  • work0115 82 30082
  • fax0115 82 30081


Stephen Hill studied Pharmacology in Bristol (BSc, 1976) and then undertook PhD studies in the Department of Pharmacology in Cambridge (PhD 1979, first demonstration of 3H-mepyramine binding to histamine H1-receptors). After postdoctoral studies in Cambridge (1979-1981) he was appointed to a lecturer position in the Department of Pharmacy at the University of Nottingham.

He joined the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology (now the School of Life Sciences) in 1984 and was subsequently promoted to Reader (1989) and Professor of Molecular Pharmacology (1995). He was Head of the School of Biomedical Sciences from 2008-2013. He was Director of the Institute of Cell Signalling from 1997-2008 and in 2016 became the inaugural Nottingham Co-Director of the University of Birmingham and University of Nottingham Centre of Membrane Proteins and Receptors. He is also Adjunct Professor at the Harry Perkins's Institute, University of Western Australia where he has previously held a Raine Foundation Visiting Research Professorship. He has published over 270 papers and his research has concentrated mainly on the molecular pharmacology of G protein-coupled receptors and receptor tyrosine kinases.

He was a founding director of the University of Nottingham spin-out company CellAura Technologies Ltd that provided fluorescent ligands to the scientific community. He has served on the Editorial Boards of the British Journal of Pharmacology and Current Opinion on Pharmacology. He was Vice-President (Meetings) of the British Pharmacological Society (2004-2006) and was the BPS Sandoz (Novartis) Prize winner in 1987 and the BPS Australasian Lecturer in 2006. He was elected a Fellow of the British Pharmacological Society in 2004 and has been President Elect (2016-2017) and President (2018-2019) of the British Pharmacological Society. He was elected an Honorary Fellow of BPS in 2020.

He was Chair of the MRC Molecular & Cellular Medicine Research Board (2012-2014) and has previously served on the Wellcome Trust Physiology & Pharmacology Panel and the Wellcome Trust Career Development Interview Panel. He is currently a member of the UKRI Future Leaders Fellowship Panel.

School of Life Sciences

University of Nottingham
Medical School
Queen's Medical Centre
Nottingham NG7 2UH

Contact us