School of Mathematical Sciences

Coronavirus (Covid-19)

See latest advice for UoN community and details of how to report symptoms or test results


About us

In the School of Mathematical Sciences you will join a welcoming academic and social community of people from all over the world.

Ranked in the top 10 nationally for research power and research quality (REF 2014)

Home to over 1,000 undergraduates and approximately 100 postgraduate taught and research students.


Our history

Mathematical sciences has been taught at The University of Nottingham since 1882. Beginning as part of the original School of Physics and Mathematics in University College, Nottingham, the School has substantially changed over the 130+ years since its opening.

The School has also changed the world around it, driving improvements in mathematics and mathematical understanding. Members of the School continue to provide excellent teaching, reach out to the wider community, develop innovative research and support cutting-edge industrial developments.


Key dates


Mathematics and Physics begins to be studied at University College, Nottingham, the first municipal college in England.


The School of Mathematical Sciences is separated from the School of Mathematics and Physics.

Building University Park

Building University Park

The first Department of Mathematical Sciences following its separation from Physics
The School of Mathematical Sciences in 1942


The School moves to the Highfields Park site and hosts visits from high profile lecturers such as Albert Einstein, Mahatma Gandhi and H G Wells.

Einstein’s original blackboard writings can still be seen today in what is now the Physics and Astronomy building.



The University of Nottingham receives its Royal Charter allowing it to grant its own degrees.


A new degree course in theoretical mechanics is launched, the first of its kind in any British university.



Staff pioneer Study Groups with industry, bringing together industry and academia to formulate industrial problems and resolve them using analysis and computation.


New areas of statistics are developed, relating to Bayesian inference, clinical diagnosis and medical decision-making.



The Mathematical Medicine and Biology group is formed and the Department of Theoretical Mechanics merges with the School of Mathematical Sciences.


Alumnus CWJ Granger is awarded the Nobel Prize for Economics and is later knighted in 2005.


The School achieves its first Athena Swan Award in recognition of its commitment to advancing the careers of women in science, technology, engineering, and maths (STEM).

Clive Granger
Alumnus and Nobel Prize winner, Sir Clive Granger

Caucher Birkar
Alumnus and Fields Medal winner, Caucher Birkar


A new School of Mathematical Sciences Building is officially opened by Sir Adrian Smith, a former Head of School, from the Department for Innovation, Universities and Skills (now BIS).


The Margaret Jackson bursary is established to support undergraduate women in mathematical sciences.


Alumnus Caucher Birkar wins the Fields Medal for his contributions to algebraic geometry.



Professor Paul Houston becomes Head of the School of Mathematical Sciences

Paul Houston
Paul Houston, Head of School

Our research


School of Mathematical Sciences

The University of Nottingham
University Park
Nottingham, NG7 2RD

For all enquiries please visit: