School of Humanities

Departments in the School of Humanities

The School of Humanities is a multi-unit school, consisting of five departments: Classics and Archaeology, History, Music, Philosophy, and Theology and Religious Studies (TRS).

In addition, the School hosts the Faculty of Arts Foundation programme, which sits as a separate unit outside of the other departments within the School. 

Find out more about each Department through the links below: 

Postgraduate student holding green pen while using measuring calipers for pottery & bone and cataloguing, Humanities Building

Classics and Archaeology

Male postgraduate student using a book scanner, Digital Humanities Centre


Students working in a Recording Studio situated in the Department of Music


Hand holding glass ball which reflects inverted image of bare trees in background


9 candles burning in a golden Menorah

Theology and Religious Studies

Old books on shelves (copyright - roman kraft)

Foundation Arts



School of Humanities

University of Nottingham
University Park
Nottingham, NG7 2RD

Contact details