Geosciences

People

Our staff work across the geoscience disciplines, often in more than one of the broad areas defined here. Staff are therefore grouped here under their primary research focus:

Postgraduate students are strongly integrated into our research, contributing across all areas of activity and reflecting the international scope of our work.

Biogeography

Richard Field

Richard Field

Associate Professor of Biogeography

richard.field@nottingham.ac.uk

 

Odette Paramor

Odette Paramor

Associate Professor of Marine Biology (UNNC)

odette.paramor@nottingham.edu.cn

 

Geertje van der Heigden

Geertje van der Heijden

Assistant Professor

geertje.vanderheijden@nottingham.ac.uk

 

Photo coming soon

Alison Wee

Assistant Professor

kimshan.wee@nottingham.edu.my

 

Ee Phin Wong

Ee Phin Wong

Assistant Professor

eephin.wong@nottingham.edu.my

 

Alexandra Zieritz

Alexandra Zieritz

Anne Mclaren Fellow

alexandra.zieritz@nottingham.ac.uk

 

 

Environmental Reconstruction

Benjamin Chandler

Ben Chandler

Assistant Professor in Geomorphology

benjamin.chandler@nottingham.ac.uk

 

Arabella Fraser

Arabella Fraser

Nottingham Research Fellow

arabella.fraser@nottingham.ac.uk

 

Ping Fu

Ping Fu

Assistant Professor in Geographical Sciences UNNC

ping.fu@nottingham.edu.cn

 

Matthew Jones

Matthew Jones

Professor in Quaternary Science

matthew.jones@nottingham.ac.uk

 

Michela Mariani

Michela Mariani

Assistant Professor

michela.mariani@nottingham.ac.uk

 

Sarah Metcalfe

Sarah Metcalfe

Research Theme Lead and Professor - Earth and Environmental Dynamics

sarah.metcalfe@nottingham.ac.uk

 

Jorge Salgado Bonnet

Jorge Salgado Bonnet

Postdoctoral Researcher

jorge.salgadobonnet@nottingham.ac.uk

 

George Swann

George Swann

Associate Professor in Palaeoclimatology

george.swann@nottingham.ac.uk

 

Virginia Panizzo

Virginia Panizzo

Assistant Professor

virginia.panizzo@nottingham.ac.uk

 

 

Informatics

Matthew Ashford

Matthew Ashfold

Associate Professor

matthew.ashfold@nottingham.edu.my

 

Lawal Billa

Lawal Billa

Associate Professor

lawal.billa@nottingham.edu.my

 

Doreen Boyd

Doreen Boyd

Associate Professor and Reader in Earth Observation

doreen.boyd@nottingham.ac.uk

 

Betsabe De la Barreda-Bautista

Betsabe De la Barreda-Bautista

Research Fellow

betsabe.delabarreda@nottingham.ac.uk

 

Giles Foody

Giles Foody

Professor of Geographical Information Science

giles.foody@nottingham.ac.uk

 

Gengen He

Gengen He

Assistant Professor in Geographical Sciences

gengen.he@nottingham.edu.cn

 

Sarah Owen

Sarah Owen

Assistant Professor (Earth Observation)

sarah.owen@nottingham.ac.uk

 

Gary Priestnell

Gary Priestnall

Associate Professor

gary.priestnall@nottingham.ac.uk

 

Franziska Schrodt

Franziska Schrodt

Anne Mclaren Fellow

franziska.schrodt1@nottingham.ac.uk

 

 

Water Resources

Photo coming soon

Tabitha Blackwell

 

Photo coming soon

Amanda Burson

Rubicon Fellowship

amanda.burson@nottingham.ac.uk

 

Photo coming soon

Jake Dimon 

Research Assistant

jake.dimon@nottingham.ac.uk

 

Stephen Dugdale

Steve Dugdale

Assistant Professor

stephen.dugdale@nottingham.ac.uk

 

Faith Chan

Faith Chan

Associate Professor of Environmental Sciences

faith.chan@nottingham.edu.cn

 

Christopher Gibbins

Chris Gibbins

Professor and Head of School (UNMC) - School of Environmental and Geographical Sciences

christopher.gibbins@nottingham.edu.my

 

Simon Gosling

Simon Gosling

Director of Research and Associate Professor in Climate Risk

simon.gosling@nottingham.ac.uk

 

Matt Johnson

Matthew Johnson

Associate Professor

m.johnson@nottingham.ac.uk

 

Nick Mount

Nick Mount

Associate Professor of Hydroinformatics

nick.mount@nottingham.ac.uk

 

Jorge Salgado-Bonnet

Jorge Salgado

Postdoctoral Researcher

jorge.salgadobonnet@nottingham.ac.uk

 

Colin Thorne

Colin Thorne

Professor of Physical Geography

colin.thorne@nottingham.ac.uk

 

Yu Ting Tang

Yu-Ting Tang

Assistant Professor in Environmental Sciences

yu-ting.tang@nottingham.edu.cn

 

 

Research students

Research students and their project titles
StudentTitle
Abdulaziz Alsaleh Hydro-geomorphological Consequences of Rapid Urban Development in Riyadh City, Saudi Arabia
Ahmad AlShdaifat Reconstructing the Late Pleistocene palaeoenvironmental settings and hydrodynamics of southern Jordan using sedimentary archives
Nachnoer Arss Exploring the Capabilities of Projected Augmented Relief Models (PARM)
Marzhan Baigaliyeva Closed lakes hydrology - Burabay case study
Oliver Baines Changes in arctic and alpine plant communities: The roles of climate and geodiversity
Ali Ben Mustapha Agricultural system functioning in Q'a Shubayqa (Jordan) and projecting future scenarios of climate change impact using crop simulation models
Roger Brackin Formalisation of Techniques for Identifying Disruptive Technologies in fields related to Geospatial Science
Charlotte Briddon Assessing the impacts of aquaculture in The Philippines using palaeoliminology
Chloe Brown Remote sensing investigation of how oil palm cultivation is degrading Malaysia's tropical peatland ecosystem service
Chris Chandler Spatial Patterns of Liana Infestation across a Primary and Selectively Logged Tropical Forest
Alison Clayson The impact of soil physiochemical properties upon the PAHs dermal bioavailability
Vanessa Cutts What drives specialisation and diversification in island floras?
Tianyang Du Thermal pollution in rivers due to cooling water from power plants and implications for system resilience to future change
Olumese Efeovbokhan Overland flood modelling in densely populated data sparse regions
Henry Fell Testing the climatic controls on plague (Yersinia pestis) using palaeobiogeographical modelling and experimental microbiology
Renoy Girindran Sustainable City - Geospatial Information in 3D
Karla Hernandez-Aguilar Understanding microenvironments and the potential of traditional farming systems in a changing climate in Mexico and Belize
John Hickson Liana responses to elevated atmospheric CO2
Emma Higgins Revealing Controls on Abundance and Microhabitat use of Anolis Lizards in a Changing Island Landscape
Laura Hunt Reconstructing 2,000 years of hydrological change in Africa: Implications for future scenarios.
Bethany Jackson Slavery from Space: An Analysis of the Modern Slavery Environmental Degradation Nexus Using Remotely Sensed Data
Jonah Kunda Joshua The impacts of urbanization on urban heat island, morbidity and mortality in Nigeria’s Federal Capital Territory, Abuja and environs
Hannah Kemp Understanding the main drivers causing increased macroalgae blooms
Amit Kumar Investigating the factors influencing the transition from meteorological to hydrological droughts
Jahzeel Lara Environmental history and collective memory in Central West Mexico
Luis Fernando Legarda Garzón Natural Flood Management (NFM)
Jack Lort Measurement and modelling human dermal bioavailability of potentially harmful organic soil contaminants
Hannah Markham Sensitivity of invertebrate eggs to fine sediment and phosphate concentrations in rivers
Haydar Martinez-Dyrzo Climate against Human agency in the settlement pattern of the Mayab during Holocene
Trang Ngo Biogeochemical processing of nitrogen within the Red River delta, Vietnam
César Rodríguez Testing for morphological, behavioural and thermal sensitivity shifts in signal crayfish (Pascifastacus leniusculus) at invasion-front sites in the UK
Basiru Shehu Exploring Locational Criteria to Optimise Biofuel Production Potential in Nigeria Based on Agricultural Crops
Pooja Singh Flood risk and vulnerability in the Kosi Basin, India
Thomas Stanton A Spatio-temporal Record of Microplastic Particles and Natural Textile Fibres in the River Trent and its Tributaries and in Atmospheric Deposition across the Trent Catchment
Laura Louise Turner An experimental and macroecological investigation of precipitation effects on Arctic plant root traits
Annegreet Veeken Combining palaeoecological knowledge and trait-based ecology to extend the time scales of agro-ecosystem functioning research
Grant Vernham The role of geodiversity in mediating functional diversity: Implications for ecosystem function
Charlotte Viner Predicting Sediment Transport Dynamics in Rivers Infested with Invasive Signal Crayfish (Pacifastacus leniusculus)
Catherine Waite The use of Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs) and Microlight Aircraft for high-resolution image capture
Hazel Wilson Impacts of litter on ecology and geomorphology of rivers
Linghan Zeng Combined effects of hydrological modification and eutrophication on shallow freshwater ecosystems in the middle Yangtze floodplain
James Boon Aliens in the twilight zone: using robots to study and manage invasive lionfish on Caribbean mesophotic coral ecosystems
Eve Draper Clean air for all? Air pollution, deprivation and health. PM2.5 pollution and its relationship with deprivation and health in Nottingham.
Connor Panter Abundance within species' ranges: understanding species' responses to environmental change
Ashley Proctor Liana-driven differences in the contribution of tree species to the carbon balance of tropical forests

 

Geosciences

School of Geography
Sir Clive Granger Building
University of Nottingham
University Park
Nottingham, NG7 2RD


+44 (0)115 951 5559