Learning leaders

   
   

 

LL-header

About learning leaders

Working with children aged 5-11, learning leaders volunteers are based in Nottingham primary schools. This role involves working in a group leading whole class sessions in school time, or running an after school club. Volunteers also have the opportunity to progress to team leaders, after one semester on the project.
 

 

The role

Inspire children to love learning by sharing your subject knowledge in fun and engaging ways

  • Plan and lead sessions in a primary school
  • Share your degree subject knowledge
  • Experience working with children aged 5–11
  • inspire pupils to achieve their potential

Key dates

Semester 1 placements:

October – December

Semester 2 placements:

February – April

 

 

How to apply

To find out more, or get involved, email the academic contact in your department:

Learning leaders project contacts
 Department Name  Email address
 History Joe Merton  joe.merton@nottingham.ac.uk 
 Classics Lynn Fotheringham  lynn.fotheringham@nottingham.ac.uk 
 Vikings and Anglo Saxons Laura Nixon laura.nixon@nottingham.ac.uk
 Astronomy and Physics n/a  planetarium@nottingham.ac.uk 
 Pharmacy Keith Spriggs keith.spriggs@nottingham.ac.uk
 Philosophy Andrew Fisher  andrew.fisher@nottingham.ac.uk 
 Medical physiology Gwen Hughes gwen.hughes@nottingham.ac.uk
 Psychology Kate Bailey kate.bailey@nottingham.ac.uk

 

NB: To take part in the Learning Leaders programme, you must be studying one of the above subjects. If your subject is not represented, you may be interested in our IntoUniversity volunteering scheme.

Student Communications Officer

Communications and Marketing
University Park Campus
Nottingham, NG7 2RD

telephone:+44 (0)115 82 32353
e: studentcommsoffice@nottingham.ac.uk