School of Physics & Astronomy

D&I Committee members

The formally constituted Diversity and Inclusion Committee consists of the following people:

  • Clare Burrage

Chairs the SAT and the D&I Committee. Sits on the Faculty of Science D&I committee, and Gender Equality in Nottingham (GEN) group. Has worked in School since 2011, first as a postdoc and then as a permanent member of staff.

  • Alfonso Aragon-Salamanca

Director of Teaching. Professor of Astronomy.

  • Rachel Asquith

Postgraduate Representative

  • Shaun Beebe

Head of Operations (HoOps), Has worked in the School for 6 years. Also a Non-Executive Director for an NHS Clinical Commissioning Group and Leadership Consultant for Nottingham University Consultants. Previously a Chief Superintendent with Nottinghamshire Police.

  • Henry Bowler

Administrative Assistant

  • Wendy Brennan

PA to Head of School

  • Juan Garrahan

Professor of Physics

  • Penny Gowland

Professor of Physics with research interests in medical imaging. Previous chair of the diversity committee. Has worked in School for 27 years, worked part time for 20 years.

  • Meghan Gray

Associate Professor.

  • Philip Hawker

Teaching Facilities Manager.

  • Mohamed Henini

International Postgraduate Admissions Tutor and International Students Advisor. Professor of Physics.

  • Oleg Makarovskiy

Assistant Professor and Disability Liaison Officer.

  • Michael Merrifield

Head of School. Professor of Astronomy.

  • Philip Moriarty

Undergraduate Admissions Tutor. Professor of Physics.

  • Kathryn Murray

Research assistant, who has recently moved to the Medical School but has agreed to continue to serve on our D&I to provide an external perspective.

  • Thomas Napier

Sports centre coordinator. Specialist Engineer Support.

    • John Owers-Bradley

Deputy Head of School (dHOS). John has been a member of staff for over 30 years. He is married with two grown up children.

  • Mike Swift

School Exams Officer; Athena Swan Data Analyst since April 2016. Sits on the new Faculty Data Champions group. Associate Professor.

  • Denise Watt

First year teaching lab technician and member of the D&I committee responsible for communications.

School of Physics and Astronomy

The University of Nottingham
University Park
Nottingham NG7 2RD

For all enquiries please visit: