Institute for Aerospace Technology

IAT Team


The IAT Team can be found around the university campuses and the purpose built Aerospace Technology Centre (ATC):

Serhiy Bozhko, IAT Director

Prof Serhiy Bozhko
Director, Institute for Aerospace Technology


Serhiy is the Director of the Institute for Aerospace Technology, Professor of Aircraft Electric Power Systems and a member of the Power Electronics, Machines and Control (PEMC) research group. He received his MSc and PhD degrees in electromechanical systems from the National Technical University of Ukraine in 1987 and 1994, respectively, and has been with the University of Nottingham since 2000. Since 2004, his main research focus has been aligned with More-Electric Aircraft in the area of aircraft electric power systems, including power generation, distribution and conversion, power quality, control and stability issues, power management and optimisation, as well as their advanced modelling and simulation methods.

Professor Serhiy Bozhko has developed well-recognised international profile due to the high-quality and originality of his research outputs. He is a member of the SAE AE-7 International Standards Committee for Aircraft Electrical Systems and the Chair of AE-7M committee on Model-Based Design of Aircraft Electric Power Systems. He is among the organisers of major conferences in the field and was the General Chair of the IEEE Conference on Electrical Systems for Aircraft, Railways, Ship Propulsion and Road Vehicles and International Transportation Electrification Conference in 2018 (IEEE ESARS-ITEC’2018). He is a Senior Member of the IEEE.

Currently, Serhiy leads several EU and industry-funded projects in the aerospace electric power systems (EPS) field and his research interests include:

  • EPS for MEA including their architectures, electric power generation and distribution
  • Smart power management in MEA EPS
  • Advanced control and stability issues
  • Electric power quality
  • Advanced modelling and analysis methods, as well as simulation techniques



Tanja Siggs
IAT Programme Manager


Tanja is the Programme Manager for the IAT. Working closely with the IAT directors, Tanja develops, manages and leads the programme of IAT activities and provides strategic leadership and management of the highly skilled IAT core team.

Tanja’s background is in UK and EU public policy and government relations and she has represented the interests of local authorities, universities and membership bodies at the UK and EU levels, including seven years based in Brussels.




Dr Helen Thomas 
IAT Project Manager


Helen provides project management expertise for the IAT’s EU-funded Marie Skłodowska-Curie ‘INNOVATIVE’ doctoral programme and the ERDF project 'Aerospace Unlocking Potential'.

She has worked across industry and academia, achieving a PhD in Additive Manufacturing at Loughborough University in 2010.

She spent a number of years working at Loughborough University and the University of Nottingham as a post-doctoral research fellow managing research and exploitation projects.



David Allen

David Allen
Senior Executive, Corporate Partnerships - Aerospace


David is responsible for engaging and liaising with external partners, understanding their business, developing partnerships and establishing collaborative projects. He connects our academic experts with industry to support knowledge exchange, whilst managing the funding and contractual arrangements.

David has over twenty years of experience in aerospace engineering in both military and civil aviation. He has worked for several Universities over many years, supporting collaborative research, training and consultancy projects and is always happy to discuss opportunities and challenges that you might have.



Photo of Sarah Fletcher, Project Manager

Sarah Fletcher
Project Manager


Sarah is a Project Manager working on an EU-funded Horizon 2020 Research and Innovation project - ORCHESTRA. The aim of this project is to enable Much More Electric Aircraft Electrical Power Systems (M2EAEPS) by developing highly innovative breakthrough Technological Building Blocks (TBBs).

Most recently she project managed a number of Horizon 2020 EU-funded Innovative Training Network projects. Sarah is a Chartered Accountant with previous experience of working in Finance, Audit and Risk Management within the University and in industry.



Photo of Sarah Walker, ERDF Project Manager

Sarah Walker
ERDF Project Manager


Sarah is a Project Manager for the Aerospace Unlocking Potential project, helping to deliver support to Aerospace supply chain SMEs across the Midlands. She works with the project team to ensure progress is monitored, requirements are delivered and ensure compliance with funding rules.

Sarah has been managing European Funded projects for the last 12 years across both the public sector and within Higher Eduction, with a focus on compliance and project delivery. She has overseen and worked on a wide range of projects, mainly focusing on those funded by the European Regional Development Fund but also on projects funded by European Social Fund, FP7, European Research Council and H2020.



Photo of Hadrian Moran, ERDF Project Officer

Hadrian Moran
ERDF Project Officer


Hadrian is part of the team working on the Aerospace Unlocking Potential project. He works closely with the ERDF Project Manager to provide financial management and ensure compliance with funder requirements. He also provides marketing support.

Hadrian has provided administrative and project support across different sectors and specialisations, notably local government, academia, legal and engineering. He has worked on CleanSky 2 projects and Marie Skłodowska-Curie doctoral training programmes.



Mark Jabbal, Aerospace Course Director

Dr Mark Jabbal
Course Director for Aerospace Engineering


Mark is an Associate Professor within the Faculty of Engineering and he is the Aerospace Engineering Course Director. He is the module convenor for the first year Aerospace Aerodynamics module and a tutor for a first and third year module.

His main research interests include aerodynamic flow control in aerospace and automotive applications for drag reduction. This research combines experimental fluid mechanics, modeling and optimisation, and vehicle system integration studies.

He is the PI for the Clean Sky 2 WingPulse project and the Co-I for the Clean Sky 2 TailSurf project. He is currently supervising four PhD students.

Mark is a Member of the Royal Aeronautical Society (MRAeS) and a co-opted member of the RAeS Aerodynamics Specialist Group.

Visit his Google Scholar page here and his Research Group's page here.




Institute for Aerospace Technology

Aerospace Technology Centre
Innovation Park
Triumph Road
Nottingham, NG7 2TU

Contact us