Department of Classics and Archaeology

Event Archive 2013 - Department of Classics

Classics Research Workshop - Maecenas the Midwife

Date
Tuesday 5 February
Description
Speaker: Dr. Emily Gowers (Cambridge)

Research Workshop delivered by David Gwynn

Date
Tuesday 12 February
Description
Dr David Gwynn (Royal Holloway) speaking on: ' "If you enquire whether the bath is ready, the answer is that the Son was made out of nothing": Doctrinal Controversies and the Late Antique Historian'.

Designing the Past in Roman Imperial Cities

Date
Wednesday 6 March
Description
Designing the Past in Roman Imperial Cities, Christoph Klose (Berlin)

Processes of integration in the Roman world

Date
Friday 5 - Sunday 7 July

Q-Kolleg Conference 2013

Date
Monday 2 - Tuesday 3 September
Description
From 2-3 September 2013, the first Q-Kolleg Conference 'Fresh Perspectives on Greco-Roman Visual Culture' will take place at Humboldt-Universit├Ąt zu Berlin.

Research Workshop 22 October

Date
Tuesday 22 October
Description
Peter Meineck (NYU and Nottingham): 'The tragic paradox: a cognitive perspective'

Research Workshop 29 October

Date
Tuesday 29 October
Description
Tim Cornell (Manchester): 'The sack of Rome by the Gauls and the beginning of history'

Research Workshop 12 November

Date
Tuesday 12 November
Description
Dan Stewart (Leicester): 'The conundrum of text in classical archaeology: myth and monumentality in the Hellenistic and Roman Peloponnese'

Research Workshop 19 November

Date
Tuesday 19 November
Description
Llewelyn Morgan (Oxford): 'The Council of the Gods in Rome: Ennius, Lucilius, and a competing paradigm'

Research Workshop 26 November

Date
Tuesday 26 November
Description
Andrej and Ivana Petrovic (Durham): 'Divine bondage: tying up divinities in Greek myth and cult'

Research Workshop 3 December

Date
Tuesday 3 December
Description
Lynette Mitchell (Exeter): 'The heroic rulers of archaic and classical Greece'

Research Workshop 10 December

Date
Tuesday 10 December
Description
John Rich (Nottingham): 'The evolution of the Roman triumph'

Classical Association Conference 2014

Date
Sunday 13 - Wednesday 16 April
Description
In 2014, the Annual Conference of The Classical Association will be hosted by the Department of Classics at The University of Nottingham.
Displaying 1 to 13 of 13

Department of Classics and Archaeology

University of Nottingham
University Park
Nottingham, NG7 2RD

Contact details
Archaeology twitter
Classics twitter