Department of Philosophy
   
   
  

Philosophy event archive 2012

Michael Lumsden Memorial Lecture

Date
Wednesday 11 May
Description
Professor Jonathan Wolff (UCL) is the speaker at this year's Michael Lumsden Memorial Lecture: "Philosophy and Public Policy".

Date
Friday 11 May
Description
The workshop aims to address the debate over the value of testimony in aesthetics as well as the relationship between this debate and broader issues in epistemology and elsewhere.

Royal Institute of Philosophy Public Event - Science, Art and the Sacred

Date
Wednesday 27 June
Description
In collaboration with the Leeds Art Gallery, the AHRC funded project "Method in Philosophical Aesthetics: the challenge from the sciences" will be hosting a major public event on the relationship between science, art and religion on the evening of the 27th of June 2012.

Royal Institute of Philosophy Conference - Philosophical Aesthetics and the Sciences of Art?

Date
Thursday 28 - Saturday 30 June
Description
An international conference in association with the University of Leeds, the University of Nottingham and the Royal Institute of Philosophy. The conference will involve speakers with a variety of perspectives, ranging from those with a good deal of enthusiasm for "empirical philosophy" to those more inclined to favour traditional, a priori approaches.

Date
Tuesday 10 - Thursday 12 July
Description
This conference will focus on recent debates in metaphysics surrounding questions of grounding, fundamentality, essentialism and the monism vs pluralism debate.

Olympia part 1

Date
Tuesday 17 July
Description
A rare chance to see a public screening of Riefenstahl's Olympia Part 1: Festival of Nations. Introduction by Prof. Stephen Mumford: Do the ethical flaws of a work ruin it as art?

Olympia part 2

Date
Wednesday 18 July
Description
A rare chance to see a public screening of Riefenstahl's Olympia Part 2: Festival of Beauty. Retain your ticket for Part 1 17 July to gain entry.

Date
Saturday 8 - Sunday 9 September
Description
This is the third workshop of the Experimental Philosophy Group UK.

Date
Wednesday 3 October
Description
Mary Leng (York)

Date
Wednesday 10 October
Description
Phillip Meadows (Warwick) - 'Holy Naive Realism, Batman! Look At The Air!'

Date
Wednesday 17 October
Description
Philip Percival (Nottingham) - 'Branching of Possible Worlds'

Date
Wednesday 24 October
Description
Lorna Finlayson (Cambridge) - 'With readicals like these, who needs conservatives? 'Realism' and 'idealism' in political thought'

Date
Wednesday 7 November
Description
Herman Cappelen (St Andrews) - 'Intuition and the Unity of Philosophy'

Date
Wednesday 14 November
Description
Speaker - TBA

Date
Wednesday 21 November
Description
Arif Ahmed (Cambridge)

Date
Wednesday 28 November
Description
Chris Heathwood (CU-Boulder/Princeton)

Date
Wednesday 5 December
Description
Maria Alvarez (King's College, London)

Date
Friday 18 - Saturday 19 January
Description
This is the first of three annual conferences as part of the AHRC funded project entitled "From Ethics to Explanation and Back Again". The topic of this conference is explanation in mathematics and ethics.

Date
Wednesday 20 February
Description
Robbie Williams (Leeds)

Date
Wednesday 27 February
Description
Huw Price (Cambridge)
Displaying 1 to 20 of 23
Previous 1 2 Next

Department of Philosophy

University of Nottingham
University Park
Nottingham, NG7 2RD

Contact details