Department of Music
   
   
  

Music event archive 2012

MOSS Guest Seminar

Date
Wednesday 2 November
Description
Arthur Groos (Cornell University): 'Mimì's Bonnet and Colline's Coat: Bohemian Nostalgia and the Remembrance of Things Past'

PGR Seminars Spring 2012

Date
Thursday 2 February
Description
Adam Whittaker - "Tinctoris and the Banner of Truth"

PGR Seminars Spring 2012

Date
Tuesday 14 February
Description
Jamie Njoku-Goodwin - "Branding Israel: The Practicalities and Possibilities of Musical Propaganda"

UCAS Visit Days 2012

Date
Wednesday 15 February
Description
Departmental UCAS Visit Day

PGR Seminars Spring 2012

Date
Tuesday 28 February
Description
Nataly Stevens - "Performance Practice: Processes and Ideologies of Local Orchestras and Orchestral Societies"

UCAS Visit Days 2012

Date
Wednesday 7 March
Description
Departmental UCAS Visit Day

MOSS seminar: Revolutionary sex in Walton's 'Troilus and Cressida'

Date
Tuesday 13 March
Description
Guest seminar by J.P.E. Harper-Scott (RHUL)

PGR Seminars Spring 2012

Date
Thursday 15 March
Description
Lesley-Ann Brown - "Schoenberg's Concept of the Lied as the Reading of a Poem"

Mahler Symphony no 2 "Resurrection"

Date
Saturday 24 March

PGR Seminars Spring 2012

Date
Tuesday 27 March
Description
Gráinne Blake - "Investigating the "Live" and Mediated in Opera"

Department of German, with the Department of Music, Public Lecture

Date
Wednesday 28 March
Description
Professor Richard Stokes (Professor for Lieder, Royal Academy of Music)'Robert Schumann and Heinrich Heine: an illustrated lecture on Schumann's 'Dichterliebe' and the poems that inspired it'

Opera as Spectacle Workshop/Symposium

Date
Monday 25 - Tuesday 26 June
Description
Staging practices in French and Italian opera during the nineteenth century. Venue: Institute of Musical Research, Russell Square, London

Medieval and Renaissance Music Conference

Date
Sunday 8 - Wednesday 11 July
Description
In 2012 the Medieval and Renaissance Music Conference will be celebrating its 40th birthday with a return to the venue fo the first ever Med Ren, held at Nottingham in 1972.

Open days

Date
Friday 14 - Saturday 15 September
Description
Open days

Music Colloquium - Geoff Baker

Date
Tuesday 9 October
Description
Geoff Baker (Royal Holloway, University of London) - 'Venezuela's Youth Orchestra Programme El Sistema: Myths, Metaphors, Realities'

Music Colloquium - David Irving

Date
Tuesday 23 October
Description
David Irving (University of Nottingham) - 'The Global Gamut: Encounters of Scale Systems in the Early Modern World'

Music Colloquia Autumn 2012

Date
Tuesday 6 November
Description
Robert Rawson (Caterbury Christ Church University) - 'Melancholy Ditties about Dirt and Disorder': the Roles of rustic Music at Bohemian and Moravian Courts c.1600-1750'

Music Colloquia Autumn 2012

Date
Tuesday 20 November
Description
Katherine Butler Schofield (King's College, London) - 'The Social History of the North Indian Song Collections, 1780-1820'

Challenging Musical Ontologies: An RMA Study Day

Date
Friday 23 November
Description
This RMA Study Day seeks to engage with conflicting yet complimentary dialogues regarding the possibility (or even non-possibility) of an ontology of music.

MOSS Colloquium - James Mansell

Date
Tuesday 27 November
Description
James Mansell (University of Nottingham) - 'Documentary film and the aural politics of everyday life in early twentieth-century Britain'
Displaying 1 to 20 of 23
Previous 1 2 Next

Department of Music

The University of Nottingham
Lakeside Arts Centre
University Park
Nottingham, NG7 2RD

Admission enquiries
All other enquiries
Telephone: +44 (0)115 951 5841
Email: music-enquiries@nottingham.ac.uk