Department of Music

University Philharmonia and University Choir

Tuesday 29th July 2014 (19:30-21:30)

The University Philharmonia and Choir join forces for a programme by 20th-century English composers inspired by the sea. Ralph Vaughan Williams’s first symphony is a tour-de-force for orchestra and large chorus that sets verses from Walt Whitman’s poems Leaves of Grass and Passage to India to music conveying the power and vastness of the ocean. The concert opens with Britten’s wonderfully evocative Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes. 

  • Britten: Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes
  • Vaughan Williams: Symphony No.1, A Sea Symphony

Jonathan Tilbrook - conductor  

This concert will be performed at the Albert Hall, Nottingham 

£13 (£10 concession)
£6 UoN students

Department of Music

The University of Nottingham
Lakeside Arts Centre
University Park
Nottingham, NG7 2RD

Admission enquiries
All other enquiries
- Telephone: +44 (0)115 951 5841
- Email: