Athena SWAN


ECU's Athena SWAN Charter was established in 2005 to encourage and recognise commitment to advancing the careers of women in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) in higher education and research.

In May 2015, the charter was expanded to recognise work undertaken in arts, humanities, social sciences, business and law (AHSSBL), and in professional and support roles, and for trans staff and students. The charter now recognises work undertaken to address gender equality more broadly, and not just barriers to progression that affect women.

ECU's Athena SWAN Charter covers women (and men where appropriate) in:

  • academic roles in STEMM and AHSSBL

  • professional and support staff

  • trans staff and students

In relation to their:

  • representation

  • progression of students into academia

  • journey through career milestones

  • working environment for all staff

The Athena SWAN Charter is based on ten key principles. By being part of Athena SWAN, institutions are committing to a progressive charter; adopting these principles within their policies, practices, action plans and culture.

The University of Nottingham was one of the first institutions to join the Charter and was awarded an Athena SWAN Institutional Bronze Award in 2006. The University later achieved an Institutional Silver award in 2012 and the Institutional Silver Renewal in 2017/2018.

The Athena SWAN Institutional Self-Assessment Team, co-chaired by Professor Robert Mokaya and Dr Tamsin Majerus, provides leadership and support to the University's gender equality agenda.

The University also holds a number of departmental Athena SWAN awards which recognise the commitment of our Faculties and Schools to progressing gender equality through the development of local action plans.

Download Brochure


Useful Contacts

Useful Links

Download Full Submission Document



University of Nottingham Awards

Institutional Silver

Departmental Gold

Faculty of Engineering

Departmental Silver

School of Geography (coming soon)


School of Health Sciences (coming soon)

School of Psychology (coming soon) 


Departmental Bronze


School of Law
(coming soon)

School of Veterinary Medicine and Science (coming soon)


School of Computer Sciences (coming soon)

School of Economics (coming soon)

School of Education (coming soon) 


Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Trent Building
University Park Campus