Points Based System


The University of Nottingham is licensed to issue Certificates of Sponsorship under Tiers 2, 4 and 5.

Tier 1 (High-value Migrants)

Investors, entrepreneurs and exceptionally talented people can apply to enter or stay in the UK without needing a job offer - but migrants will need to pass a points-based assessment.

Tier 2 (General)

Tier 2 is for migrants who have been offered a skilled job in the UK and the prospective employer is willing to sponsor - migrants can apply to come or remain here to do that job.

Tier 4 (Student & Doctorate Extension Scheme)

Tier 4 is part of the points-based system for immigration. It is for migrants who want to study in the UK.

Tier 5 (Temporary Workers)

If an employer in the UK is willing to sponsor you, you may be eligible to come and work in the UK for a short period.



Last edited Jan 02, 2018