Changes to the University's Ordinances were approved during 2010 with an implementation date of 22 July 2010 to match the date of Privy Council approval for the amendments to the Charter and Statutes. 

Ordinance I The Chancellor
Ordinance II The Officers of Council
Ordinance III The Appointment of the President and Vice-Chancellor
Ordinance IV Pro-Vice-Chancellors and Faculty Pro-Vice-Chancellors
Ordinance V Officers of the University
Ordinance VI deleted 2015
Ordinance VII deleted 2015
Ordinance VIII Officers and Members of Council: Appointment and Removal
Ordinance IX Removal of the President and Vice-Chancellor
Ordinance X Powers of Council
Ordinance XI Joint Committee of Council and Senate
Ordinance XII Reserved Areas of Business for Committees
Ordinance XIII Senate
Ordinance XIV Election of Members of Senate
Ordinance XV Powers of the Senate
Ordinance XVI Academic Boards
Ordinance XVII Constitution of the Faculties
Ordinance XVIII Staff
Ordinance XIX The award of Degrees, Diplomas, Certificates and other Distinctions
Ordinance XX The University of Nottingham Alumni Association
Ordinance XXI deleted 2015
Ordinance XXII The Students' Union
Ordinance XXIII Council Grievance Procedure: student complaints and appeals
Ordinance XXIV Discipline
Ordinance XXV Contracts
Ordinance XXVI Honorary Degrees and Fellows
Ordinance XXVII Retirement of Members of the Academic and Administrative Staff of the University
Ordinance XXVIII Emeritus Professors


A copy of the Ordinances in force prior to July 2010 is available here for reference only.


Registrar's Office

Trent Building
University of Nottingham
University Park
Nottingham, NG7 2RD

telephone: +44 115 951 5761
fax: +44 115 951 5739