Honorary Degrees Committee


Terms of Reference

  • Identify potential recipients of honorary degrees, invite recipients to accept the honour, and report to the Senate and the Council

Main Activities

  • Invite confidential nominations for honorary degrees from members of the University
  • Taking into account the regional, national and international roles of the University, the academic, professional or other distinctions of potential recipients and particular services they may have rendered to the University, identify potential recipients of honorary degrees whilst also promoting diversity
  • Invite potential recipients to accept the honour, and report to the Senate and the Council


President and Vice-Chancellor (Chair): Professor Shearer West

The Pro-Chancellors: John Mills, Dr Hamid Mughal

Two Pro-Vice-Chancellors: Professor Dame Jessica Corner, Professor Nick Miles

Registrar: Dr Paul Greatrix

Two Faculty Pro-Vice-Chancellors: Professor John Atherton, Professor Jeremy Gregory

Chief Marketing and Communications Officer: 

Director of CARO: Debbie Henthorn (Acting Director)

Student Representative: Cassie O'Boyle, Education Officer

Secretary: Registrar (Dr Paul Greatrix)


Professor Graham Kendall and Professor Chris Rudd are on the Committee as virtual members. 


membership updated October 2018

Return to Committees list

Registrar's Office

Trent Building
University of Nottingham
University Park
Nottingham, NG7 2RD

telephone: +44 115 951 5761
fax: +44 115 951 5739