Quality and Standards Committee


Terms of Reference

  1. To assist the Teaching and Learning Committee in discharging its responsibilities for the University's academic quality and standards.
  2. To oversee the application of all University regulations, policies and procedures in respect to quality and standards.
  3. To keep relevant Quality Manual policies under regular review.
  4. To consider Memoranda of Agreement for approval and renewal. 
  5. To approve all new programme specifications/revisions to existing programme specifications.
  6. To approve the withdrawal of programmes upon which students are currently registered or for which applicants hold offers.
  7. To have oversight of the process of approval of all new and amended modules.
  8. To undertake the appointment of External Examiners.
  9. To receive External Examiners' Reports and School responses for consideration.
  10. To receive Schools' annual monitoring reports for consideration.
  11. To receive reports from professional statutory and regulatory bodies with regard to accredited programmes for consideration.
  12. To make regular reports to Teaching and Learning Committee on its activities and plans.
  13. To make regular reports to Faculty meetings on its activities and plans, as well as receive Faculty concerns relating to QA matters.
  14. Members normally sit on the Committee for 4-5 years.


Chair: Jonathan Tallant

Deputy Chair: Keith Benedict

For each Faculty/Campus Representative:

  Arts:  Chris Woodard (UG), Lucie Sutherland (PG)
  Social Sciences: Kirsten Greenhalgh (UG), Anne Emerson (PG)
  Science: Chris Hayes (UG), Harriet Allen (PG)
  Engineering: Barbara Turnbull (UG), Daniel Beneroso Vallejo (PG)
  Medicine and Health Sciences: Katy Cobb (UG), Kim Edwards (PG)
  Malaysia Campus: Hazel Ramos, Sandy Hwei San Loh
  Ningbo Campus: Peter Lamb, Dunant Halim, Wyatt Moss-Wellington

Chair of Foundation Year Committee: Mohamed Elmaghrbi

Inter-Campus Quality Officer: Peter Morgan

Adademic Director of Degree Apprenticeships: TBC

Education Officers of the Students' Union/Association (one per campus):

  Rebecca Craven (Nottingham Campus)
  Meghna Mukherjee (Malaysia Campus)
  Yiwei Jiang (Ningbo Campus)

Postgraduate Officer: Abdi Ahmed

Head of Academic Processes: Sandra Mienczakowski

Head of Student Registry: Joo Pei Poh

Complaints and Conduct Manager: Rachel Newnham

Head of Education Excellence Support: Alison Reeves

Secretary: Hayley Robinson

(updated October 2020)

Return to Committees list

Registrar's Office

Trent Building
University of Nottingham
University Park
Nottingham, NG7 2RD

telephone: +44 115 951 5761
fax: +44 115 951 5739