Health and Safety Committee


Terms of Reference

  • Formulate health and safety policies so as to ensure that the University meets all legislative requirements and best practice standards, and promote and monitor effective implementation of those policies

Main Activities

  • Monitor developments and trends in legislation and external practice regarding health and safety
  • Review and approve safety policies and procedures, where required for submission to the Council, and monitor their implementation
  • Monitor the occurrence of health and safety related incidents including near misses, reports of any enquiries into them under the approved procedures and identify any implications for the development of health and safety policies and procedures
  • Review reports of School Safety Committees and co-ordinate provision of relevant safety advice or information on good practice across the University
  • Review and approve the provision of guidance and advice to line managers across the University on the implementation of health and safety policies and procedures in their areas of management responsibility in accordance with the University's Statements of Safety Policy
  • Monitor the timely dissemination of information of general safety interest to line managers and School/Departmental Safety Officers
  • Identify matters of concern to staff and students and encourage their support for and engagement with securing appropriate workplace health, safety and welfare standards


Chair appointed by the Vice-Chancellor: Dr Paul Greatrix (Registrar)
A Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Deputy Chair): Professor Sarah O'Hara 
Director of Estates and Facilities: Linda Goodacre 
Director of Operations (Estates): Andy Sweeney
Director of Human Resources (or nominee): Peter McCracken
Representative from Libraries and Research & Learning Resources: Susan Ackerman

An external member of University Council: to be confirmed

School Safety Officer from each Faculty (2 from Science):
   Arts - Debra Booler 
   Engineering - Rod Dykeman
   Medicine and Health Sciences - Kate Shepherd 
   Science - Dr Richard Argent, Professor George Shaw 
   Social Sciences - Professor Michele Clarke

Eight Health and Safety Representatives as follows reflecting the spread of workplace hazards:
   UCU (2 representatives): Dr Oscar Siles Brugge, Dr Cyril Rauch
   UNITE (3 representatives): John Corrie, Janice Saxton, Tom Clayton
   UNISON (3 representatives): Martyn Tring, Anne Kilker, 1 to be confirmed

UNNC - Chair of the Health and Safety Committee or Campus Safety Officer: Vivian Chen
UNMC - Chair of the Health and Safety Committee or Campus Safety Officer: Professor Ian Harrison, Raimy Ismail

Students' Union - a student representative from the Executive Committee and a management representative: 
   Julia Morley (Management Representative)
   to be confirmed (Student Representative from the Executive Committee)  

Secretary: Neil Hawthorne (Director of Health and Safety)

(updated January 2019)

Return to Committees list




Registrar's Office

Trent Building
University of Nottingham
University Park
Nottingham, NG7 2RD

telephone: +44 115 951 5761
fax: +44 115 951 5739