Joint Consultative Committee (UCU)

Terms of Reference

  1. There shall be established a Joint Consultative Committee which shall consist of four members appointed by the Council of the University (these members to be members or employees of the University), and four members appointed by UCU (these members to be employees of the University and members of UCU). A University appointee will chair the Committee.
  2. The purpose of this Joint Consultative Committee, which will meet at least once every term and which may meet more frequently if mutually agreed by both parties, shall be to provide a forum for informal discussion and consultation on any matter which is not being dealt with by negotiation.
  3. After consultation with the Secretary of UCU, an agenda for each meeting will be circulated by the Director of HR to members of the Joint Consultative Committee not less than one week in advance of the meeting.
  4. Agreed notes of meetings of the Committee will be kept. These will be drafted by the Director of HR in consultation with the Registrar.

The Committee will report to People & HR Committee, a sub-committee of the University Executive Board.


Registrar (Chair): Dr Paul Greatrix

A Pro-Vice-Chancellor: Professor Sarah Speight

Chief Financial Officer: Margaret Monckton

Director of Human Resources: Jaspal Kaur

4 members appointed by the UCU: Agnes Flues, Lopa Leach, Tony Simmonds, Andreas Bieler

Secretary: Tanya Robinson (Human Resources)


(membership updated 28 November 2023)

Return to Committees list

Registrar's Office

Trent Building
University of Nottingham
University Park
Nottingham, NG7 2RD

telephone: +44 115 951 5761
fax: +44 115 951 5739