2021 Volunteer Awards landing page banner

The university's annual volunteer awards celebrate the outstanding contributions our alumni, staff and community volunteers make to the university and the wider world.

And what better time to reveal the winners of this year's awards than in Volunteers' Week? Firstly, a big thank you to all of our volunteers - whether you've given us an hour or a year of your time, it all makes a real difference to our students, staff and the local community.

Read on below for this year's award winners...

Michael Abiodun Olatokun

Volunteer of the Year

Michael Abiodun Olatokun (Law, 2014)

Volunteer roles: Career Mentor (2019 – 2021), BME Careers Speaker (2019), Alumni Proposition Webinar Speaker (2020), Get Connected Speed-Networking (2021), Alumni to Alumni Mentor (2017), CARO Communications Volunteer (2017).

Michael is one of Nottingham's most outstanding long-term volunteers and advocates, taking part in a variety of events, communications pieces, and virtual volunteering and advocacy opportunities which have benefitted literally hundreds of students and alumni at the University of Nottingham.

He is currently the Head of Public and Youth Engagement at the Bingham Centre for the Rule of Law, a law lecturer at London South Bank University and a visiting lecturer at Middlesex University - with this in mind, how he has time to say yes to everything we send boggles the mind!



Community volunteer award winners

Individual Community Volunteer of the Year - Paul Corcoran

Group Community Volunteer of the Year - PROTECT-CH Trial, Val Leyland and Maureen Godfrey

Read more

Alumni volunteer award winners

Exceptional Contribution - Yinka Adegbenle

Longstanding Volunteer - Michael Abiodun Olatokun, Yinka Adegbenle, Aparajita (Ivy) Roy, Alison Isherwood, Shash Patel

Read more

Volunteer co-ordinator award winners

Volunteer Co-ordinator of the Year (Careers and Employability) - Alex Owusu

Volunteer Co-ordinator of the Year (Engineering) - Vince Pizzoni

Read more


Meet our previous winners:

2019 winners

Our 2019 Volunteer Awards winners

Alumni volunteer of the Year: Emily Seto (Clinical Microbiology, 2016)

University of Nottingham Volunteers of the Year: Martin Austin and Steven Hadfield

Community Volunteers of the Year Group Award: The Music and Memories Choir

Community Volunteer of the Year: Valentine Nkoyo

Special Recognition Award: Emily Smith

Longstanding Volunteer Awards:

  • Yasmin Ali (Chemical Engineering, 2010)
  • Ed Tarlton (Psychology, 2011)
  • Aymun Khan (Mechanical Engineering, 2019)
  • Jenny Ireland
  • Jan Perrett MBE
  • Jo Horsey
  • Friends for Impact
  • David Waldram

Volunteer Co-ordinator of the Year: Martha Jones

2018 winners

Volunteer award winners 2018

University of Nottingham Volunteer of the Year: Natalie Hayden-Yeung (Law, 2012)

Alumni Volunteer of the Year: Hugh Jaques (Chemistry, 2000)

Exceptional Contribution Award: Lisa Johnson

Community Volunteer of the Year: John Charles-Jones

Longstanding Volunteer Award:

2017 winners

UK Alumni Volunteer of the Year:  Dr Amy Prosser – Careers Volunteer 

International Alumni Volunteer of the Year: Jingyi Fu

University of Nottingham Volunteer of the Year, Community Volunteer of the Year and Longstanding Volunteer: Emeritus Professor David Brailsford – School of Computer Science Volunteer and founder of Computerphile

Exceptional Contribution Award: Paul Barrett and Steve Wright – Lifecycle Superheroes 

Longstanding Volunteer Award:  

  • Kate Hodgett and Maureen Godfrey – Patient Participation in Research Volunteers (Dementia)
  • Shirley Priest, Jim Priest, Louise Clarke, Dr Alaa Alrawaibah – Lakeside Museum Volunteers
  • Andy Boston – Guest Speaker (School of Mathematics)
  • Christine Humfrey and Keith Redfern – Cascade Panel Volunteers
  • Colin Jones, Janet Jones, David Henson, David Pinney, Janet Kemp, Mary Chivers, Pam Brown – Friends of University Park
  • Daniel Slater – Founder of Futsal Society
  • David Pearson – Summer School Volunteer
  • Candy Wright, Dominic Chan, Aster Lee, Albert Poon, Natalie Chiu, Lavinia Wong, Vincent Wong – Friends of the University of Nottingham: Hong Kong 
  • Peter Hubberstey – Judge, Salters Festival (School of Chemistry)
  • Roger Lewis – Former Alumni Laureate Chair and Orator
  • Professor Julian Wiseman – Old Kingstonian Association (OKA) Treasurer and Volunteer


2016 winners

University of Nottingham Volunteer of the Year: Jo Horsey, Medical School Admissions Committee 

Alumni Volunteer of the Year: Mark Bullock, Mentor and Sports volunteer 

Staff Volunteer of the Year: Drew Shearsmith, Information Services  
Community Volunteer of the Year: Pam and Mike White, CBTRC  
Longstanding Volunteer Awards:

  • Mal Davies, Sutton Bonington RFC
  • Alison Robinson, School of Veterinary Medicine
  • Jim Gamble, Thunder and Lightning Lecture Series, School of Chemistry, May Fest
  • Mark Bullock, Disability Sports and Mentoring
  • Group Nomination, Manuscripts and Special Collections - Sheila Leeds, Peter Reddish, Anne Reddish, Pauline Chettle, Jim Chettle
  • David Pinney, Family Link
  • Ann and Brian Peters, Family Link
  • Lesley Parkinson, Family Link
  • Pat Smith, Family Link
  • Sumeet Shah, Family Link
  • Ossie Newell, Stroke Rehabilitation
  • Malcolm Jones, Manuscripts and Special Collections
  • Jo Horsey, Medical Schools Admissions Committee
  • Mark Bullock, Mentor and Sports volunteer
  • Tim Smith, Careers and Employability Services
  • Dr Chanikul Chutrakul, International Office (Thailand)
  • Benjamin Ma, International Office (Malaysia)
  • Hien Chi Nguyen, International Office (Vietnam)  

Alumni Engagement

University of Nottingham
Portland Building
University Park
Nottingham, NG7 2RD

t: +44 (0)115 823 2408